Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen Series #1)

Genre : Romance, Young Adult, Paranormal
Format : eBook
Rating : 2/5 stars

The reason I chose Fallen series was because I wanted to read some angels material for my Nano writing. From Goodreads this was one of the top books on the list, just behind Mortal Instruments. Since the story of Fallen was closer to what I wanted to read I chose to start this series first.

Here’s a brief telling of what the first book is about, from Goodreads:

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.

Get ready to fall . . .

Let’s talk about the love story first.

The love between Lucinda and Daniel was instant, it happened immediately when both of them met for the first time. This love at first sight was so strong it seemed unnatural. However it was understood because of the story’s development. Their love could be traced back to centuries which explained why they have fatal attraction to each other.

(But I’m a reader who prefers love that matures over time)

Let’s talk a little about the story’s development.

I can’t help but think that the author’s hurling all the events that she could put to Lucinda. Because since she reached her new school, new characters kept popping up and string of events kept happening. There’s barely time to digest the story.

(I’m out of breath actually, I need a break!)

Finally let’s talk about the writing style.

The were some phrases that indulged me in the simple yet beautiful images that words could bring. This I learned much from the author, here are some that I liked.

The glittering light around them fell like confetti.

The sun had just peeked over the trees, and it shimmered in tiny star-shaped shards on the choppy water.

There were occasions when I have to reread the sentences a few times to understand what the author’s trying to say. Not too efficient if I need to read faster.

For my recommendation I would keep it neutral this time. If you’re a die hard YA lover, perhaps this is the book for you. Otherwise the gluey love and the too fast paced story was not my cup of tea.

Since this is the first book of the series, I’m looking forward to what the rest of the books have in store for me. Stay tune for the rest of the series’ reviews 😀

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen Series #1)

  1. Today is the first day of March and your piano exams are in this month. Good luck with these practical and theory of music exams. Blog and share with us your experience as an adult student learning music.

    You might even want to try recording a piano piece and uploading the audio. You know how readers love to see and hear from their fellow bloggers. The personal connection with the blogger makes it even more interesting. 🙂

    Thank you for visiting and sharing your warm support.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So happy that you remembered Jess! Thank you so much for your wishes and thoughts! 😀

      As usual, your ideas for my blog is awesome~ I’ve never thought of sharing a video clip (I’m video shy) but I may consider audio~ There are so many ideas in my draft but so little time to write nowadays~

      Thank you once again for dropping by, have a nice day! ❤

      Like

  2. Oh gosh, this reminds me of my early high school years. I read this book when it was first released and liked it. Of course, at the time I was a huge fan of YA (still am, really) though. I imagine if I read it now I don’t think I’d love it as much as I did. Thanks for sharing this review! If you want to try more books about angels, Unearthly is probably my favorite (and, of course, all of Cassie Clare’s books-though they don’t really focus on angels).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had read and loved the first in this series. Book two and three were eh. But I have had the fourth book since it first came out a couple of years ago and haven’t read it since.

    Liked by 1 person

Scratch on my wall!

