Nanowrimo Update #1

It’s almost a week into Nano and gosh I’m stuck at the current romance story I’m writing.

The words seemed to flow for the first 3 days and for the last 3 there hasn’t been much progress because I felt that the story was flat.

Today’s Day 6 and the romance novel I’m writing is based on theme about food.

Actually I have 2 stories on hand which are different in genre.

  1. First story’s a fantasy genre. This story came to me when I began to setup my outlining tools to participate in September. The funny thing is when the idea struck I almost got a complete novel. So what do I mean by almost a complete novel?  It means I literally have the whole outline of a story completed with plot, the setting, characters, the development, climax and plot twist. And most important thing is I already saw the ending to this story. But somehow the second novel idea emerged and I decided to stow this away.
  2. Second story’s a romance genre. I got this idea after the first and I’ve decided to write it because I prefer romance novel and am passionate about food! I’ve got little ideas here and there and few original quotes written down, hoping with these could inspire a plot, story buildup but boy I was wrong! I struggled with filling in ideas just based on the snippets of writing. I’ve got like 5 or 6 different plots that could go with this theme and I started Day 1 by choosing one… which had me ended in a writer’s block now and the development is vague and the ending is not in near sight…

With the situation now, I’m going to make a tough decision.

  • Should I go on with the romance story and try to find ideas/motivation everyday?
  • Or should I switch (before it’s too late) to the fantasy story which has a clear outline and I just need to work on the details?

I’m inclined to choose second, maybe I could stop story #1 for today and get the words out for story #2.

How’s your journey on Nano? Or do you have any advice or suggestions? Feel free to share in the comments below.

Have a nice day!

23 thoughts on “Nanowrimo Update #1

  1. Hi 🙂 I figured out your twitter!

    I’m a bit late commenting on your post. But I thought sticking with your romance story would be good. I guess nano wrimo is a chance to challenge yourself and your writing and you might learn and improve more by trying to work through the challenges.

    I’d read in a couple of books / posts that for blocks with plot / story etc or any aspect of art there are a few things that help:

    1) Just to write directly from consciousness without thinking about it and see what comes out; that could be in a seperate document from your novel then use it for ideas?

    2) Do an activity like walking, taking a bath etc. that occupies / relaxes the mind and try not to think about it too much, something might just come to you?

    When we were doing the poetry writing I found point 2 worked for me. I would work hard to think about the poem, then forget about it and do some other work, or walk or gym and I’d find ideas would spring up..

    Anyway, goodluck, sounds like you are working super hard !

    Alexander

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, that’s me 🙂

      I switched to the second novel last week, it’s romance too but in a fantasy world. The words came out well and I’ve had fun adding scenes I concocted based on a rough outline.

      Your ideas are great!! I always want to write in a relaxed state, getting myself comfy is definitely conducive for my writing~ For the past few days I realized the more I write the easier it is to generate ideas. Like you said, turning off the criticism and editor in me is definitely helping.

      Thanks for the wish, I definitely need it, I’m so close yet so far away from the daily goals~ 🙄

      Like

  2. Hey well done for starting Nano write I have not as too busy …..I get my inspiration from either a picture, a sentence either by picking a page from any book and picking a line or picking a last line from something, a name, and a brief scenario that wonders for me…good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually I’ve started the second novel from scratch and now I’m through the halfway mark of today’s target. I just have to keep writing no matter rain or shine. And your idea of jotting down notes is really useful, it serves as a pool of resource for me. Thank you so much for giving your feedback 🙂

      Like

  3. I agree with seekingsomepeace — just keep going and see what happens! I’ve always found that when I get writer’s block, it’s because I’ve been trying to stay in control. I’m either trying to force the characters to do what I want, or push the plot in a direction I thought it should go. The more you let go, the more the words will come. Just trust the process — you may wind up with a fantasy romance, with food! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow Christi, I just had the experience that you mentioned. In fact I’m starting to like this character that I created so much that I can’t stop writing about him 😛
      And true to that, who knows I may wind up with a novel of all sorts? Thank you for your support! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My advice is to first stop thinking that there is no progress in the novel you’re writing. Whatever ‘bad’ writing comes, just put it to the page. Another thing is to write whatever comes into the tips of your fingers, close your ‘editor’ mind and even your eyes if you had to, if it happens to be the first or the second novel, it doesn’t matter. Maybe there is even a third novel that has them both warpped in one somewhere in you. Main thing, like someone had already commented, go with your gut.
    Don’t forget to have fun, and good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for this great advice, I’m glad you all provided feedback that helped and motivated me! I’ve followed what I think is right and now my progress is much better. And yeah closing the ‘editor’ mind is a tough thing to do, I just have to keep writing and not keep looking back!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmm that’s a tough decision! I think you should do whatever feels right for you. You could always start working on the fantasy one, but keep your mind open to the romance one in case something just ‘clicks’ in your head! 🙂 Good luck, you can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Scratch on my wall!

