Blogging 101 : Make a Prompt Personal

Uh oh I’m one day behind Blogging 101 schedule. Yesterday was a busy day but luckily I’m rather free today thus I plan to finish up 2 days’ homework.

Yesterday’s assignment was: Publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a blogging prompt.

Taken from DP’s eBook, here’s the prompt for July 21: Party Animals?

Party animals? After spending time with a group of people, do you feel energized and ready for anything or do you want to hide in the corner with a good book?

Friends of Past

In life friends come and go, they are like visitors of past, present and future. Some friends exists only in the past, some you have them in your circle today and some may walk into your life in the future, you may not know. Oh but some friends you have them for a lifetime, true as gold.

I remember when I was young I had a few good friends, we sat together in class, hanged out during recess time, shared common interests and visited each other’s house, happy and worry-free. As we grow up and moved through schooling phases, from primary school to secondary school to university, friends changed like shades of chameleon.

Tried as we may to keep in touch via letters but as we wrote and wrote, one day the writings just stopped. The postbox, empty. And letters between us are stowed away in an old mooncake box. The connection was lost.

Flipping through my dusted diaries, pages of names and contact appeared. I looked at them, not so familiar anymore. Tore the pages up and dropped them into the bin.

I missed the days when I was waiting eagerly for the postman’s delivery, bearing tidings of friends in a thin envelope. Before all of these faded away into the web of internet.

A few friends had lost contact forever yet mostly are on Facebook but they only remain as a social media list, I hardly contact any of them, or they hardly contact me. Just reading what goes on in their life on social feeds day in day out but as I closed the page I drift back into my own pace in life.

Perhaps what was lost is lost.

Yet who knows what fate lies ahead.

Maybe one day a lost friend may walk into my life again?

Maybe not.

8 thoughts on “Blogging 101 : Make a Prompt Personal

  1. This made me reminisce of the days I too would write letters to my friends. Wow, I have no idea what these friends do now, and don’t even have them on Facebook.
    But I don’t think it’s a shame, it’s just life. And I’m grateful for the friends that I have no and look forward to meeting people in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Scratch on my wall!

